Every DUI And Traffic Violation Counts
A traffic stop may not seem like a big deal, but Georgia residents know how seriously the state takes traffic violations, especially if that violation involves alcohol. Penalties can include fines and losing your license, which you may depend on every day. If you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI), you could also face jail time and a host of other penalties, even for a first offense.
At D. Charles Fulcher, Attorney at Law, LLC, we care about our clients, and we understand how important your driver’s license is to you. Founding attorney Charles Fulcher has the knowledge and experience you need. He has been fighting for his clients’ rights for over a decade. We serve clients facing criminal charges in Pickens County and throughout Northern Georgia.
Georgia’s Point System For Traffic Violations Can Threaten Your License
If you think a traffic citation is nothing to worry about, think again. Most driving offenses in Georgia will earn you points on your license. If you reach 15 points within 24 months, the Department of Driver Services (DDS) will suspend your license. These points not only threaten your license but can affect your car insurance rates as well. If you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or if you are under 21, you need to be especially careful regarding your license status. Your ability to drive is important to you, which is why we will fight your traffic citations to protect your license.
Penalties For DUI Go Beyond Fines
In Georgia, a police officer may charge you with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, either based on your driving and/or a field sobriety test, or through a chemical test that shows you have a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher or drugs in your system. These rules are different if you are under 21 or have a CDL. Penalties are stiff, but the effect on your life goes beyond paying a fine or even losing your license. A DUI on your record can affect your employment, housing, education and even your personal life.
A DUI charge can result in two different types of penalties – criminal and civil. The civil penalty involves a suspension of your license. The DDS will handle this part of your case. In most cases, the DDS will suspend your license for six months for a first offense, though you may be able to obtain a temporary permit. For additional charges within five years, the penalties increase. The DDS sanctions sometimes can change if you refuse to complete the requested test.
If convicted of the criminal DUI charge, you may also face fines, jail time, community service and DUI educational classes. Fines start out at $300 to $500 for a first offense and can be quite a bit more with court costs, with 10 days in jail, plus probation, substance abuse evaluation and community service. The penalties increase for severe cases and additional charges within 10 years. A fourth offense is charged as a felony.
As you can see, the penalties are severe in Georgia, even for a first offense. If you face DUI charges, do not waste any time. Find a skilled criminal lawyer right away to protect your future. Never face a DUI on your own. Charlie Fulcher is here for you and will start defending your freedom immediately.
Protect Your Right To Drive – Call 706-314-8068 Today
We are ready to help you right away. Call our Jasper office at 706-314-8068 or send us an email to schedule a consultation.